General Information American Society for Quality (ASQ) certification is a formal recognition that the certified individual has demonstrated proficiency within and comprehension of a specified body of knowledge for the certified category at that point of time. It is a peer recognition and it demonstrates that the certified individual has the knowledge to ensure quality of products and services.

Recertification Process

To avoid delay of processing your recertification package, please avoid the following:

1) Insufficient Documents: a) a letter of employment is needed while a business card or pay record is not sufficient. b) Certificates, report cards, diplomas, etc are needed to claim your student credits. c) A letter (email) from your committee chair describing your duties and services is needed for your committee work credit. d) All courses for instructor credit(s) must be taught IN ADDITION to your usual job responsibilities (if you are a full time trainer at your work, you cannot claim training credit(s) within your company). e) Self-paced studying/preparation does not qualify for RU credits in student course credit.

2) Non “Quality” application process: a) incorrect certification number and/or expired date. b) Written information is illegible and/or inaccurate. c) No check, money order or credit card payment. d) Credit card payment without expiry date or signature. e) Recertification journal application form not dated and signed. f) Personal home delivery on the last day of the six months after the certification expiration date is non quality practice.

3) WRONG address: DO NOT send to Lakeshore BLVD unless you do not mind this may be delayed. Please remember that the re-certification journals are to be sent to the following address:

Eric Cheong

15 Sutton Court

Markham Ontario L3R 9B4

Objective of re-certification:

The certified status is not a recognized status forever, since the continuous technological change erodes the value of the certification. ASQ (previously ASQC) started the re-certification program in 1976, with a limited number of categories of certification. Currently, the categories of certification that have to be maintained by updating the knowledge of the certified individuals are as below:

(a) Certified Quality Auditor, i.e., 

(b) Certified Reliability Engineer, i.e. CRE,
(c) Certified Quality Engineer, i.e. CQE,
(d) Certified Software Quality Engineer, i.e. CSQE, and
(e) Certified Quality Manager, i.e. CQM,
(f) Six Sigma Black Belt, (g) CQA –HACCP, and (h) CQA-Biomed. The two methods of Re-certification:

There are two ways of getting re-certified; one is to pass the certification exam for the category, and the other is to update your knowledge in the certification field and re-certify through the re-certification points accumulated. The latter is the easiest way and is the one most people follow.

Re-certification points/units are awarded for several professional activities as explained in Table 1 below. The recertification package, the certified Quality Professional receive from Milwaukee explains all these categories and the maximum eligible units (RU) in each of these items. You need to accumulate 18 Re-certification Units in 3 years to re-certify.

Planning for Re-certification: Re-certification through accumulation of Re-certification Units (RU) becomes easier, when you plan for the same from the very beginning, instead of trying to collect points towards the end of the re-certification dead line. You have 3 years to earn the re-certification units. Keep documentary evidences for the professional activities that you claim RU. The table below lists some categories to earn RUs.


In Archive